Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

“I Tried To Be An Atheist”

Posted in Atheist Blogger by Skepdude on November 23, 2008

I’ve spoken about my Christian friend David a few times on this blog, and I’m getting a chance to see his dad preach on Monday at a Christian Union meeting, so I thought I might talk about him and his beliefs a bit more. Out of respect for his privacy, I’m only referring to him by his first name (as is my policy on these things).

When I met David last year, we talked a lot about religion / Christianity / atheism. He came across to me as a very moderate Christian, the kind that never angers and always smiles (i.e. the most annoying kind). There is being nice, and then there is being so nice you constantly come across as an arrogant condescending moron.

When losing an argument about faith or religion, he would always *without fail* resort to his favourite catchphrase:

I tried to be an atheist…I really tried…

As if he thought this argument was actually worth anything. It is of course, a logical fallacy in many ways. Firstly there is no correlation between failing to do something and the accuracy of what you were trying to attempt. I could say “I tried to be a Christian” or “I tried to be a banana”, but my failure to be either of those doesn’t reflect on their actual veracity as subjects. It only reflects on my personal failure, and as we can easily demonstrate, there are people who have succeeded at being Christians, and there are plenty of bananas in the world (although atheists wish that weren’t so true).

READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY AT “THE ATHEIST BLOGGER”

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. boba123 said, on November 29, 2008 at 7:50 AM

    A good Website to check out is http://www.AssertiveAtheistMoments.com.

    Bob


Leave a Reply

