Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

Tyranny of the Majority

Posted in Rodibidably by Rodibidably on February 20, 2009

[Originally posted at: Rodibidably]

I have wanted to write this since the moment the numbers came back on Proposition 8 in California, but I wanted to keep my happy mood over the Presidential election alive for a few extra days (which turned into weeks, and then a couple of months) before I ranted on some of the negatives of Tuesday’s voting.

While walking my dog one morning not too long ago, I was listening to the most recent episode of one of many podcasts I am a fan of, The Good Atheist. During this episode one of the two hosts, Jacob Fortin, where he talked about one of his most recent blog posts, When Democracy isn’t Democratic, which just so happened to be about the very subject I had been going over in my mind. I had been thinking about how I wanted to cover this specific topic, and hearing this take on the subject gave me a few ideas of what I agreed with, and what I disagreed with (or at least felt I could covey different). I should say here, that overall I agree with Jacob’s take on the subject, even though I’m not a huge fan of his “pie” analogy, and I am quite thankful for the phrase he used in his blog post (and on the podcast) which has become the title of this entry as well as thankful for the motivation to get this post done now instead of continuing to put it off even longer.

So with that intro out of the way, I’d like to continue on with the purpose of this entry. This is how Wikipedia describes the phrase, “Tyranny of the Majority”:

The phrase tyranny of the majority, used in discussing systems of democracy and majority rule, is a criticism of the scenario in which decisions made by a majority under that system would place that majority’s interests so far above a minority’s interest as to be comparable to “tyrannical” despots.

[Read the rest of this post at: Rodibidably]

Leave a Reply

