Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

Lose Weight – With Lasers

Posted in The Rogues Gallery by Skepdude on March 9, 2009

Listener, Nick,  sent in the following e-mail:

For a couple of years now, I’ve been trying to lose weight the old fashioned way. Eat less, move more. Today my personal trainer suggested this weight loss clinic that uses some foam wrapping and infrared lasers. My trainer said she’d tried it and it works and gave me the web site. I’m looking over the website and I’m not buying it. But I’m not that good of a skeptic and don’t know why I’m not buying it. I just know, I’m not buying it. Would the skeptics be so kind as to tell me why this doesn’t work? Thanks, and I love the show.

http://www.achievelaser.com/weight-loss.html

Wow. This is one of those websites that just overwhelms you with pseudoscientific technobabble. There is far too much nonsense here to tackle in a single blog, so I am going to focus on two claims – the low level laser therapy (LLLT) and the infrared body wrap.

But first, for a little background, it’s interesting to note that spas have had a tradition for literally hundreds of years of promoting wellness (that is, there own financial wellnes) through pure BS. The basic marketing strategy is to convince people with disposable income and too sedentary a lifestyle to come in, relax, and passively receive exotic treatments that will cure whatever ails them. Spas have often been on the cutting edge of health pseudoscience. Today they incorporate the latest fads in CAM – from aromatherapy to reflexology.

The infrared bodywrap is in the sweet-spot of the spa tradition – and now you can enjoy the same exploitation at home. The basic claim here is that the wrap system contains infrared radiation, which penetrates the skins and (you know the drill) – removes toxins, increases blood flow and oxygen delivery, and melts away fat and cellulite. Right.It promises you will lose weight and inches.

Of course, all such wraps do make you lose weight and inches – by dehydration via sweating. That’s the core trick here. Of course, water loss is not fat loss and in fact is counterproductive. But it is highly profitable.

READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY AT “THE ROGUES GALLERY”

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tom said, on March 10, 2009 at 3:39 PM

    Really interesting blog thanks.

  2. Weight Loss Success said, on March 12, 2009 at 4:24 PM

    Hi there,
    Interesting blog, I just stumbled on it and I’m already a fan
    I recently shed 30 pounds in 30 days, and I want to discuss my weight loss success
    with your readers. I wrote up my experience
    on my blog, and I would love your suggestions!

    If I can lose that much weight then anyone else can too. Whatever you do, never give up and you WILL
    achieve all your weight loss goals!
    with kind regards,
    Joan
    Most recent blog post: stomach fat loss

  3. watcat said, on March 16, 2009 at 11:03 PM

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  4. matt said, on March 28, 2009 at 8:57 AM

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  5. fitness equipment atlanta said, on October 2, 2013 at 3:03 AM

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme
    in our community. Your site provided us with valuable info to work
    on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.


Leave a Reply

