Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

Paraplegic Man Suffers Spider Bite, Walks Again

Posted in News by Skepdude on March 13, 2009

Make whatever you want of this story. It is lacking enough details to even ensure this story is being reported truthfully. Either way sounds too much like a post hoc argument to me. Furthermore, this is reality not a Spider Man movie. Not that I wouldn’t be willing to accept it if more evidence came forth about just how this could even work, it’s just that the title seems a bit misleading.

MANTECA, Calif. (CBS13) ―

He has been confined to a wheelchair for 20 years. Now a paraplegic man is walking again, and his doctors call it a miracle. CBS13 went to Manteca to find out how a spider bite helped get him back on his feet.

“I closed my eyes and then I was spinning like a flying saucer,” explains David Blancarte.

A motorcycle accident almost killed David 21 years ago. At the time he might have wished he was dead.

“I asked my doctor, ‘Sir what happened? I can’t feel my legs’,” said David.

Ever since, David’s been relying on his wheelchair to get around. Then the spider bite. A Brown Recluse sent him to the hospital, then to rehab for eight months.

“I’m here for a spider bite. I didn’t know I would end up walking,” says David.

READ THE REST OF THIS STORY AT “CBS13”

Leave a Reply

