Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

Why we do what we do

Posted in Skepdude by Skepdude on March 16, 2009

What motivates us to be skeptics?

This is probably one of the most important entries I have ever posted, at least on a personal level.

Many times I am asked the following question: Why do you do this? Why do you waste your time with this skepticism stuff? Some people think it is a waste of time; some think it’s nothing more than a hobby; some people think I’m a pessimist; some think I am just a naysayer.

It is hard to explain to people why I do what I do. It really is hard to put in words. But then Evolved and Rational came to my rescue, making what had once been so hard for me to explain, very self evident by posting a video that goes to the heart of why I am a skeptic. Watching this video it became clear to me that I can boil the answer down to 2 words:  Knowledge and Hope!

Knowledge that this stuff can and does happen, that the potential for evil lies within us, human beings, and that potential is easily exploited by superstition and lack of critical thinking. And then there is Hope, the hope that the little we do over her can have some effect in deterring the corrupting power that ignorance wields, the hope that somehow my words can have an influence, any influence whatsoever, to avoid the pain and suffering that superstition, of any kind religious, supernatural, pseudoscientific, inflicts upon people.

***WARNING***-THE MATERIAL BELOW IS NOT SAFE FOR WORK OR TO BE ACCESSED WHEN CHILDREN ARE AROUND OR FOR THE WEAK OF HEART. PLEASE MAKE SURE TO BE IN A COMFORTABLE (PREFERABLY PRIVATE) SETTING WHEN ACCESING  THE VIDEO BELOW.

This is why I am a skeptic!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rodibidably said, on March 16, 2009 at 9:53 AM

    Is it possible to ever “un-see” something, once you’ve viewed it?

  2. Skepdude said, on March 16, 2009 at 10:23 AM

    It is a haunting video for sure, the kind of stuff that you can’t even visualize until you see it with your own eyes.

  3. Rodibidably said, on March 16, 2009 at 12:08 PM

    It’s also the kind of stuff that once you’ve seen it, when you close you eyes, you see it again…

    I can not even begin to fathom what goes through a person’s mind that let’s them believe this is acceptable to do to another human being…

    I know at times (ok almost always) I refer to religion as a delusion, and I tell believers they should seek psychiatric help, and perhaps at times I am too harsh, but this is just fucking sick and twisted… These people show the worst aspects of humanity, and the fact that they excuse it based on their superstitious beliefs makes me ill.


Leave a Reply

