Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

Can I call this stupid?

Posted in Skepdude by Skepdude on July 21, 2009

I have been getting a bit of flack on the comments of my entry in which I disagreed with Brian Dunning about using the label stupid. Now, I think no one can argue with me that this idiot is not stupid. Just go look at his other videos. Case closed, this guy is a mental case! The only question I am interested in is this: Did he get stupid because he got religious or did he become religious because he was stupid? Or is there no correlation at all? I don’t know, you make up your own mind.

thestupiditburns1

UPDATE: I’m being told this is satire. I don’t know. I have seen and heard fundamentalist christians talk like this before, plus there is no indication that he is not serious (unlike with say Ed Current!). Maybe it is satire, in which case this guy is brilliant. Either way, enjoy!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ellie said, on July 21, 2009 at 10:11 PM

    No. It’s satire. You fell for it.

    • Skepdude said, on July 21, 2009 at 11:08 PM

      Are you sure? How do you know?

      • Ellie said, on July 23, 2009 at 2:24 AM

        Same as the others really. It just doesn’t fit that someone this anti homosexuality would be so open about incest.

  2. Pekka S said, on July 22, 2009 at 2:28 AM

    I’m pretty sure it’s satire as well. However it took me some episodes to figure it out. Jesusophile is simply to extreme. He crosses that line between fundamentalism and humor far too often. For example touching he’s moms and sisters breasts. Would a evangelical christian openly admit such stuff?

    • Skepdude said, on July 22, 2009 at 10:35 AM

      I think you are right. I just can’t see him being that serious. I believe it is satire.

  3. Elliot Birch said, on July 22, 2009 at 8:51 PM

    Definitely satire.. Just not that funny.

    • Ellie said, on July 23, 2009 at 2:23 AM

      Agreed. Not that funny.

  4. redrabbitslife said, on July 24, 2009 at 1:27 AM

    Oh boy. Did the, “he touched me and then my nipples were hard like bullets” not give it away?

    I laughed.

    • Skepdude said, on July 24, 2009 at 9:07 AM

      It should have right? Well, I had seen a couple of other videos of this guy in which it wasn’t so obvious that he wasn’t for real, and I’ve heard fundies say all kinds of crazy stuff. I guess when you’re predisposed to see something your brain will gloss over contradictory evidence. Just goes to show that no one is free from confirmation bias, me included. At least I’m willing to change my mind on stuff, right? LOL

  5. red rabbit said, on July 24, 2009 at 3:28 PM

    The mark of a true skeptic: willing to be convinced by the evidence.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

