Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

Uri Geller still at it – Good journalist will have none of it

Posted in Skepdude by Skepdude on August 28, 2009

Uri Geller! The spoon bender (or so he claims)! The New Times of Broward Palm Beach has an article on the man, which is not excessively skeptical, but takes a jab or two at the renowned “psychic” that is Geller, and my favorite is this one (emphasis mine):

When I called, he asked that I call back in about an hour. I did that too. After we discussed psychics, Randi, Randi’s Million Dollar Paranormal Challenge, and the skeptic community, out of the blue he asked if I still had a beard. He told me he liked it. “You look very cool,” he said with the grace of a lifelong showman.

That’s right, the most famous psychic in the world told me he liked my beard…over the phone! (If you google image search my name, the first picture shows me with a beard.)

That’s right! The best, and cheapest trick, this great “psychic” could come up with is a mention of the writer’s beard, an image of whom, with the beard, is readily available on the Internet! But that’s not even the fun part. The fun part is that Geller asks the journalist if he still has a beard. Shouldn’t this great “psychic” know that already? Needless to say, yet again I am not impressed.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. New York Psychic said, on August 31, 2009 at 9:06 AM

    well i don’t know Uri Geller but I do know that being psychic doesn’t entitle you to all the information in the world. Asuming that people know all things at all times is unfair, if that were true i woudl hit the lotto every every week and barred from playing.

    • Skepdude said, on November 9, 2009 at 10:28 AM

      Actually, you don’t have to do that. All you have to do is hit the lotto 1 time out 1,000 consecutive tries and do that on two separate occassions to provide sound evidence of your “powers”. Do you think you can do it?

  2. one said, on August 6, 2013 at 7:53 PM

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% certain.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

