Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

William Dembski talking dumbski

Posted in Skepdude by Skepdude on September 30, 2009

So William Dembski has a problem with Blasphemy Day, the holiest day of the year (that’s me being ironic in case a retarded person stumbles upon this entry. Sorry regular readers I have to make this idiot proof!) ! Wow. Now why an intelligent designer (it’s not creationism or religion remember?) would even get involved in this, in the official ID blog as well, beats me, but that’s not the only problem. The dumbness of the following statement is really mind boggling and, I think, at the very least refutes the argument of intelligent design in Dembski himself.

Since Darwin is their god, it would be interesting to submit to this contest true statements about Darwin’s less than divine attributes.

facepalm

So Dembski thinks that atheists worship Darwin! Oh boy! Either he is purposefully engaging in a straw man or he really is that confused. I honestly can’t tell. Can you?

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. redrabbitslife said, on September 30, 2009 at 3:27 PM

    Well, lessee… if I am supposed to worship Darwin, I guess I better say this:

    Darwin on a pogo stick!

    Or: Darwin didn’t know everything!

    Or: Ol’ Chuckie D. would laugh if he knew what a mess all this was making.

    If there’s a Hell, maybe he’s laughing gleefully up at us. If not, meh. He was a clever guy with some good ideas. I wonder what he’d do with all the tools we have today.

    • Skepdude said, on September 30, 2009 at 3:44 PM

      You blasphemous sinner. Repent! Go say 5 hail Darwins.

  2. Badger3k said, on September 30, 2009 at 11:07 PM

    Yes, Dembski is that stupid. He can’t see beyond his own authoritarian need for some figure to worship. This kind of projection is pretty standard for creationists and other evolution deniers.

  3. Franklin said, on November 11, 2009 at 8:13 AM

    My thoughts are. The ones that talked against Darwin, and the ones that talk against Christianity, and against all other religions, are ignorant of these religions, and of life itself. To hear what Athiest believe, proves the Word of God to be true. The Bible says, ” The fool hath said in his heart there is no God ” Let God be true and all men liars. Now I am not saying that all religions are correct. I am a christian, and I also believe in evolution. I am a Jehova’s witness, and I am a Jesus only. But the belief in athiesm has to be incorrect. To believe in what you see, is all you get, well that just seems so depressing. Even if we, as christians, have been decieved in believing what we believe, at least we have hope, it may be false, I don’t know, but it is still hope none the less, and for some that is all they have. Sorry for you, who have no hope, and are in this life most miserable.

    • Skepdude said, on November 11, 2009 at 11:16 AM

      What a caricature of atheists do you paint! Your arrogance is something to behold; to think that because I don’t believe in your particular myth that I must be living life in its most miserable and without hope is, unfortunately beyond arrogance and stupidity; it is borderline insane.

      Your words betray a complete misunderstanding of atheism and atheists. There is no belief in atheism dear Franklin. There is only lack of belief in god, each and every one of them. To believe in what we see is much more than one could ever “get”. I see a universe full of wonder and mystery, I see a bright future, bright not because of the empty promises of some god, but bright because of humanity. I have hope, loads of hope, that humanity will move past its infancy, religion being a remnant of that infancy, and start to mature and fulfill its potential, which I think is enormous. Unlike you I don’t think we are wretches; I think our potential as a species is enourmous. I believe that wholeheartedly. Do you? Does your belief in god even allow you to have such “faith” in yourself?

      I have hope, not for me but for my children and their children, so that they may live fulfilling lives, guided by reason and science and filled with pleasure and devoid of pain and suffering.

      The only difference between us my friend, is that I look to humanity to make it happen. See unlike you, I havent’ given up hope, I haven’t put it all in something else’s hand; I’m not ready to divest myself or my fellow human beings of the responsibility we have to each other and to the future genrations.

      I live a live that is very fulfilling, full of friends and family. I enjoy the arts and the sports, I enjoy taking time off and doing things I like. There is nothing that religion, any of them, can offer me to make my life better, more fulfilling, happier. I am free of the bigotries that religion forces people to adopt. I do not worship a book that endorses slavery or inhuman treatment of others. I do not need 10 “thou shalts/thou shalt nots” to guide my morals; I rely upon reason and the giants of ethics and moral philosophy to help me in my ethical decision making. And guess what? They provide better answers than your “holy” book ever has!

      I am not tormented by the idea of hell; by the “fact” that most people I know will burn forever, even if most of them never hurt a fly. I am not being blackmailed on a daily basis to do someone else’s bidding or else….My mind is free to wonder, to question, I am not expected to swallow dogma unquestionably. It is you my friend who is not free. It is you who is chained inside a dark room and not allowed to see the sun shiningn on the outside.

      Honestly, can you still say that I live a miserable life devoid of hope?

  4. Phillip Jones said, on September 8, 2010 at 5:22 PM

    Dembski is not stupid. He is a liar. He hates anyone that doesn’t buy his christian cultic nonsense. He knows atheists don’t make gods out of ordinary men. That his kind’s job. Also dembski is unwilling to discuss jesus’s less than divine attributes.

  5. Skeptic to skepticism said, on December 1, 2010 at 12:26 AM

    I know that this is a skeptic blog and its purpose is to dismantle a priori truths or things that most people overlook. However skepdude, what you are doing is contributing to bias and infecting the situation with arrogance and ignorance. If you were a real ‘skeptic’, you would be questioning the blind acceptance of evolution in academic circles, but your not. It seems to me that your just crying out for some attention. If your going to bash someone with a double doctorate, please have the decency to form a logical line of rhetoric, because your blog is just depressing. Anyone with an ounce of sense in his head can recognize the sarcasm with which Dembski was speaking in that quote. So either A. You read too fast. or B. You cannot read. If he seriously believed that athiests attended the ‘church of darwin’ and worshipped him as a deity, that would make him socially ignorant. But to seriously consider Darwin as a “god” that atheists worshipped, that would make him guilty of blasphemy himself. So please, step away from the blog, find a quiet corner in your ikea decorated bedroom, and go read a book.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

