Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

I endorse this idea

Posted in Skepdude by Skepdude on October 14, 2009

I am Skepdude and I endorse this.

A North Carolina pastor says his church plans to burn Bibles and books by Christian authors on Halloween to light a fire under true believers.

Pastor Marc Grizzard told Asheville TV station WLOS that the King James version of the Bible is the only one his small western North Carolina church follows. He says all other versions, such as the Living Bible, are “satanic” and “perversions” of God’s word.

Don’t get me wrong, its the wrong reason for doing this, but it’s a start. Personally I would prefer that people simply stop taking these books, whatever the version, so seriously instead of burning them, but hey I’ll take it.

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug Wildman said, on October 16, 2009 at 1:32 AM

    You endorse burning Bibles. Wow. It’s hard to believe anyone in a free society would advocate burning books of any kind, whether we agree with them or not. I believe in freedom not in fear.

    • Skepdude said, on October 16, 2009 at 11:30 AM

      Actually yes, I endorse burning Bibles, Qurans, Malleus Maleficarums etc etc. Why not? They’re crapy books and there’s too many of those lying around. Speaking of freedom, why shouldn’t we have the freedom to burn books we don’t like? I’m not saying they should be systematically burned so as to wipe them out, I just think that’s a better use for them (heating) than what they’re being used for right now (to brainwash, incite hatred and violence etc etc.) Burning them has nothing to do with fear by the way; where did you get that idea from?

  2. redrabbitslife said, on October 18, 2009 at 12:43 AM

    Nah. My father-in-law keeps bringing bibles whenever he visits. I used to recycle them: they wind up as toilet paper eventually. Now, I put them on the shelf next to “The God Delusion” and “God is Not Great.” I think he’ll get it better with that.

    And THEN I’ll recycle them.


Leave a Reply

