Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

God is

Posted in Skepdude by Skepdude on January 26, 2010

I was taking the subway to work in NYC this morning when an add caught my eye. It was a bunch of words with the large letters “God Is” in the middle of it. The add belongs to the Times Square Church, a church which I attended once at the request of a friend of mine who was trying to save me I guess. Needless to say I was underimpressed by both the preaching and the singing. I particularly didn’t enjoy having to stand up every few minutes or so; made taking a nap hard.

Nevertheless I went to the website of the TSC and found an image of the ad which I am reproducing below:

You can read more about the add campain at the Times Square Church website. Here is a listing of the statements that make up the ad, as shown on the TSC website, with my comments in red.

The ads describe God in just a few of the infinite ways He will prove His presence to you every day.

God is…

  • With you - So are all imaginary friends
  • Willing to help - Tell that to the people of Haiti
  • Able to protect - Tell THAT to the people of Haiti
  • A father - Yes we get it; you’re a patriarchal religion, get over it
  • A husband to the widow - He’ll be in much demand in Haiti
  • Your friend – Would a friend let you get crushed alive by brick and cement? Didn’t think so!
  • For you – I’m not sure what being “for you” means, but I’m sure the PEOPLE OF HAITI would disagree
  • Aware of your struggle – Peeping Tom
  • Powerful – It takes mighty power to destroy Port-au-Prince
  • Merciful – Didn’t even blink to kill over 150,000 in Haiti. Now that’s mercy if I’ve ever seen it!
  • Good – I guess killing hundreeds of thousands within hours can be construed as good in his infinite wisdom!
  • Provider – Of death and suffering
  • A good listener – When he feels like it
  • The one with your answer – But you’ve gotta tithe to get to that answer
  • The one who loved you – Loved as in past tense. So did my ex-girlfriend. I still call her EX!
  • And always will be – What a joy!
  • There when no one else is – Except that he’s not really
  • Power to change – Yeah such as changing the course of events in Haiti?
  • Incredible – Incredibly cruel that is
  • Alive – Unfortunately?
  • Ready to forgive – Are we ready to forgive HIM?
  • Looking at you – Stop it you pervert! I’ve already got enough of that from Santa!
  • Here, now – Where?
  • Jesus – Whatever, you can call him whatever you want. My imaginary friend’s name was Jessy.

HEADLINE OF INTEREST

Over 150000 Killed in Port-au-Prince by Earthquake

Thank you God!

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. redrabbitslife said, on January 27, 2010 at 10:44 AM

    Wait, this ad was in the subway? And there’s no outcry, like with the atheist bus campaign?

    My poor sensitive EYES! I am so OFFENDED! Think about the CHILDREN!

    /snark


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

