Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

Death From the Skies – Readable honey

Posted in Skepdude by Skepdude on February 11, 2010

Yes I’m very late to the game, and yes it’s quite a cheesy title I know, but upon finishing reading Phil Plait’s excellent book I felt deliciously satisfied, if that makes any sense. If you’re gonna read just one science book this year, make sure it is Death From the Skies ; hell if you’re gonna read just one book this year, make sure it is DFTS. (Amazon had the paperback for only $6.40! Good deal, worth every penny!)

I mean where else are you gonna get a book that starts by telling you that the Universe wants to kill you? Isn’t that what we’re  all looking for in a book anyway? This gem is not a work of fiction, but it is stranger than fiction. I mean what did he say is going to happen to the Sun? What did he say will happen to the Universe? This can’t be true, but aparently it is.

I’m not gonna spend too much time doing a real review, I just wanted to give Death From the Skies many, many thumbs up. If I had to use just one word to describe it, I’d say this: It’s beautiful. Really, really beautiful.

<Skeptical Heresy> Phil Plait may have what it takes to be this generation’s Carl Sagan </Skeptical Heresy>

Leave a Reply

